Linton Parish Council

Linton Parish Council is a corporate body within the local authority government that represents it’s parishioners. It is the level of local government closest to the community, working closely with both the South Cambridgeshire District Council and the Cambridgeshire County Council.

There are 15 councillor seats on Linton Parish Council.  The councillors can be either elected, or co-opted on if there is an unoccupied seat available. The Parish elections take place every four years. It is these Councillors that become your village representatives and make decisions on behalf of the Parish.

Parish Council Responsibilities

Parish councils have a variety of powers and duties, all of which impact directly on the community.


The following are all under the remit of local councils:

  • Allotments
  • Burial Grounds, Cemeteries, Churchyards and Crematoria
  • Bus Shelters
  • Bye-laws – the power to make bye-laws concerning: baths and washhouses (swimming pools), cycle parks, mortuaries and pleasure grounds
  • Clocks – public clocks can be provided and must be maintained
  • Community Centres, Conference Centres, Halls, Public Buildings
  • Drainage – of ditches and ponds
  • Entertainment and the Arts
  • Footpaths
  • General Spending – parish councils can spend a limited amount of money on anything they deem of benefit to the community that is not covered by the other specific responsibilities described in this list
  • Highways – lighting, parking places, right to enter into discussions about new roads and road widening, consent of parish council required for diversion or discontinuation of highway, traffic signs and other notices, tree planting and verge maintenance
  • Land – acquisition and sale of
  • Legal proceedings – power to prosecute and defend any legal proceedings in the interests of the community, power to take part in any Public Inquiry
  • Litter - provision of litter-bins and support for any anti-litter campaigns
  • Planning – parish councils must be notified of, and display for residents, any planning applications for the area. Any comments submitted to the planning authority by the parish council must be taken into account
  • Postal and Telecommunication Facilities – power to pay a public telecommunications operator any loss sustained in providing services in that area
  • Public conveniences – provision and maintenance of public toilets
  • Recreation – provision of recreation grounds, public walkways, pleasure grounds, open spaces, village greens, gymnasiums, playing fields, holiday camps and boating ponds
  • Rights of Way – footpath and bridleway maintenance
  • Seats (public)
  • Signs – danger signs, place names and bus stops signs
  • Tourism – financial contributions to any local tourist organisations allowed
  • Traffic Calming
  • War Memorials

Linton Village Hall

Coles Lane
CB21 4JS

Tel: 01223 891001

Clerk to the Parish Council: Ms Kathryn Wiseman

Office Hours

  • Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday & Friday 9.00 – 12.00
  • Closed all day Thursday
  • Or by appointment
  • Christmas Closure - Midday 17th Dec 2021, reopening Tues 4th Jan 2022
Neighbourhood Plan

Neighbourhood Plan

Visit our Neighbourhood Plan section to view and download all the latest Linton Neighbourhood Plan documents.